Politics: Uprooting the Bordeaux-Lacanau route?

We have written a bit about the Bordeaux – Lacanau bike route and it’s a popular (if not the most scenic) one. It’s the primary cycling thoroughfare between Bordeaux and the coast, and is a commuter line to all the little towns in between. It used to be a train-line, and now it looks like plans are in the works to make parts of it one again.

This is bad news.

I know little about the decision to extend the Bordeaux tram to Medoc, but I did find this sign at the start of the bike route at Bordeaux Lac this past weekend:

IMG_6987

I intend to do some research on this – what campaigns are active to block it, and how to get involved. But until I have done that, I’ll leave you with some photos of what people who live along route have done. I found it accidentally while cycling the bordeaux outbound route this last weekend. It’s pretty inspiring.

IMG_6981IMG_6978IMG_6980IMG_6976IMG_6974

(A tramway in the middle of the forest? Are you derailed?)

IMG_6973

(Save the path. No tram.)

IMG_6967

(No 50km/h express tram)

IMG_6954

IMG_6955IMG_6970

Leave a comment